Peace Child - Friedenslichtkind

Nine year old Maria lighting Peace Light lantern at the Nativity Grotto to be passed to Austria Airlines to be flown to Vienna.

"Peace Child"

"The Peace Child" or "Friedenslichkind" - Each year, a child from Upper Austria is picked to travel to the Holy Land to collect the Peace Light from the Nativity Grotto in Bethlehem. The Peace Light is then flown back to Vienna for distribution at a Service of Dedication attended by Scout and Guide delegations from across Europe. From there the Scouts and Guides from across Europe collect the Light, with it's message of Peace and take it back to their own countries and communities passing on the Light on to others along the way. In addition the Light is flown America and Canada for distrubtion across those countries.

Everything is so different this year, although the Peace Light could be lit in the grotto of Jesus' birth in Bethlehem however due to the Covid restrictions and border closures, no child from Upper Austrian could be nominated to travel to the Holy Land to collect the Light. This year the Light was collected by nine-year-old Maria Khoury from Bethlehem.

Maria who comes from a Christian family volunteered to take the task with great joy, saying "My family and I are very proud to be part of this years Austrian Christmas tradition.".


Peace Children - Friedenslichtkind


2020 - Peace Child not selected due to Covid

2019 - Victoria Kampenhuber

2018 - Niklas Lehner

2017 - Tobias Flachner

2016 - Melanie Walterer

2015 - Niklas Dumhart

2014 - Tizian Ronacher

2013 - Michael Wiexbaumer

2012 - Christina Mader

2011 - Sarah Schinwald

2010 - Stefan Ivatovic

2009 - Simon Binder

2008 - Marlene Irndorfer

2007 - Elisabeth Nemee

2006 - Judith Pitzer

2005 - Jurgen Lenguer

2004 - Elke Wiesmair

2003 - Birget Gotte

2002 - Nadeen Kamar

2001 - Ronni and Tali Epstein

2000 - Benjamin Forstinger

1999 - Patrick Mangelberger

1998 - Hanna Steinmair

1997 - Simon Infanger

1996 - Judith Baumgartner

1995 - Elizabeth Pichlmann

1994 - Ernst Piesl

1993 - Stefan Brenner

1992 - Sabine Jungwirth

1991 - Jochen Kriel

1990 - Silva Sylvester

1989 - Sabine Hainzl

1988 - Chy Meng Ing

1987 - Wolfgang Dobias

1986 - Marcus Fodinger

Original Web Page Compiled by "G@Z" 9/2001

Last Updated 25-11-2020